The 2004 edition departed from Antwerp. During the in port days from July 21st to 24th, the city of Antwerp welcomes about 1 million visitors.

Among the Belgian participants there are two yachts that fly the burgee of the Royal Yacht Club of Belgium (R.Y.C.B.). The Royal Yacht Club of Belgium was founded in 1851 and is the oldest yacht club in Antwerp. 

The two ships are Ebb Tide and Polarrev. Standing on the lawns of the clubhouse on the banks of the river Schelde, hundreds of guests wave “their” ships goodbye. The traditional gunshots are fired.

The first race leads from Antwerp to Aalborg (Denmark). 

Ebb Tide and Polarrev are soon positioned at the head of the fleet. Near the finish line, Ebb Tide has a close race with Orsa Maggiore (Italy) for Line Honours. In the light wind conditions, Orsa Maggiore has the advantage of racing under spinnaker and wins Line Honours. Ebb Tide wins first prize in Class C (modern yachts without spinnaker).

After holding the leaders position during almost the entire race, Polarrev could not hold this position in the last sprint to the finish. The wind dropped almost completely and the faster ships had the advantage of finishing sooner. On corrected time, Polarrev finished in fourth position.

The “Cruise in Company” took the fleet to Stavanger in Norway. Preparations for the last Race had to be made. 

Race 2 started in Stavanger and finishes in Cuxhaven (Germany). 

Once again, Ebb Tide and Polarrev soon positioned as leaders of their Class. 

A ripped headsail forces Ebb Tide to retire from the race. Polarrev is able to hold her leaders position until the finish. 

She wins first prize in Class D and the Illingworth Trophy for first prize overall in Class D.


For 2010 the Tall Ships’ Races once again started in Antwerp.

Polarrev takes part in this long distance race for the second time.

As in 2004, the first race leads from Antwerp to Aalborg (Denmark). 

Polarrev wins first prize in Race 1 in Class D.

This website uses cookies